Minutes From Annual General Meeting

Saturday September 9, 2017

1. Welcome and roll call: Welcome and roll call: Jim Ling, President of the NRCC welcomed all in attendance for the annual general meeting. Jim advised all in attendance that in order to vote on matters one must be the recognized delegate/proxy of a member club in good standing of the NRCC.

  • Ron Bischke  Alberta Field Trial Club, Alberta Retriever Clubs Association,
    Rocky Mountain Sporting Dog Club
  • Bruce Macdonald  Wild Rose Retriever Club, BC Amateur Field Trial Club
  • Dona Martin   Ottawa Retriever Club
  • Sharon van der Lee  Brandon Retriever Club
  • Bill Kennedy   Eastern Ontario Retriever Club
  • Shirley Greener  Labrador Retriever Club of Central Ontario
  • Mickey Rawlins  Logan Lake Retriever Club
  • Gar Clark  Long Point Retriever Training Club
  • Dan Yeomans  Moncton Retriever Club, Sunpoke Retriever Club
  • Jim Andrew  North Bay & District Retriever Training Club
  • Richard Dresser  Northern Ontario Retriever Association
  • Jim Ling   Pine Ridge Retriever Club
  • Diana Beatty  Prince George Retriever Club, Upper island Retriever Club, Vancouver Island Retriever Club

2. Agenda

Motion: Connie Swanson moved that the Agenda be approved Seconded by Richard Dresser. Motion carried.

3. Minutes of the AGM from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on September 17, 2016

Motion: Connie Swanson moved to approve the minutes from the AGM of 2016 held at Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Seconded by Jim Andrew. Motion carried

4. Business arising from the minutes.

a. Discussion of survey results on Future of National Amateur Championship. Jim Ling started the discussion with a brief introduction on the beginnings of the survey from ad hoc discussions at field trials to a formal online survey. Richard Dresser expressed his concerns that the survey was initially concerned with National Amateur funding, how the recommendations from the survey came about, and who approves the recommendations. Jim Ling clarified that the NRCC Board of Directors approved the recommendation.

5. 2016 Financial Statements, 2017 Cash Flow

The Financial Statements were presented on behalf of Treasurer Mark Laberge. There was a mix up on the year of the Financial Statements presented. Secretary, Dona Martin subsequently sent out the correct version of the 2016 Financial Statements that were approved via email. .

6. Correspondence :

a. None to report

7. Reports

a. 2017 National Amateur - Dona Martin reported that the host clubs (BC Amateur Field Trial Club, BC Labrador Retriever Club, and the Fraser Valley Retriever Training Club) and the judges put on a great 2017 National Amateur. Everyone felt welcome at the various venues. The tests were challenging and fair and the judges were generous with their callbacks.

b. 2017 National Report - Greg MacInnis, Field Trial Marshal reported to the Board of Directors that setup was going well with no major problems.

Field Trial Committee
  • Chair, Chief Marshal - Greg MacInnis
  • FT Chair, Dave Thompson
  • Western Zone - Bruce Macdonald
  • Eastern Zone - Dan Yeomans
  • Central Zone - Dona Martin

c. Set fee schedule for 2017 club dues, running dog fee and national entry fees. Fee Schedule for 2018 ($5.00 surcharge to member clubs for every dog that competes in each All Aged Stake that they hold. Funds collected will be submitted to the NRCC and 100% will go directly to clubs hosting the National and National Amateur. Fees for National Entry, and Memberships remain unchanged). Discussion surrounding the $5.00 fee. Clubs choosing not to collect the $5.00 surcharge on behalf of the NRCC should notify entrants, in their Premium List, that dogs placing in their events will not be qualified to run the National Amateur or the National.

d. Host clubs and dates for

  • 2018 National Amateur - North Bay & District Retriever Training Club
  • 2018 National - TBD
  • A heated discussion regarding expectations for zones to fulfill their mandate to come up with a host club in their zone. This led into a discussion of the need for a National versus a National Amateur or combined, should only one event be held.
  • To move forward, the CKC needs to approve running the National and National Amateur concurrently.

e. 2018 Judge Selection

  • National Amateur and National judges to be confirmed based on date change

f. Sponsors Report - Bruce Macdonald, Corporate Sponsor Liaison, presented the report on the Corporate Sponsorship Program. Bruce will be stepping down as Corporate Sponsor Liaison at the end of 2017. Mike Zelman will be Bruce Macdonald's replacement.

  • Purina's contract ends in December 2017. A new contract is needed.
  • DU Canada will no longer sponsor the Finalists gifts
  • Zinger Winger is good for 2018.
  • Garmin and Avery contracts end in December 2017. No reason to expect changes.
  • Connie Swanson has agreed to continue to provide portraits of the winners of the National and National Amateur
  • Winchester Ammunition is no longer a sponsor
  • Petsecure is no longer a sponsor
  • Host clubs need to find local sponsors.

8. Recognize retiring directors:

  • British Columbia  Graham Tyler
  • Alberta  Marg Murray
  • Saskatchewan  John McDonald
  • Manitoba  Gail Komadoski
  • Northern Ontario  Boyd Rutledge
  • Southern Ontario  Gary Mason
  • Quebec   Glenn Bydwell
Newly elected directors:
  • British  Columbia  Graham Tyler
  • Alberta  Marg Murray
  • Saskatchewan  John McDonald
  • Manitoba  Dawne McKenzie
  • Northern Ontario  Vacant
  • Southern Ontario  Ken Crosby
  • Quebec  Thierry Lefrancois

9. Nominations for 2018 Executive:

  • President  Graham Tyler
  • Vice President  Jim Andrew
  • Appointments accepted
    Secretary  Dona Martin
    Treasurer  Mark Laberge
    Communications Officer  Dona Martin

No nominations received from the floor. Executive to be voted on at the first Directors meeting following the Annual General Meeting.

10. New Business

a. Motion by Dan Yeomans to skip Auditor for 2017. The Financial statements are prepared by a public accounting firm. Seconded by Shirley Greener. Motion carried.

11. Adjournment

Motion by Connie Swanson to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Jim Ling. Motion carried. Dona Martin recorded the minutes.